Home Safety Programs News Donations Contact Us

The Hawai‘i Adaptive Paddling Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that involves physically, mentally and emotionally challenged individuals in the sport of Hawaiian outrigger canoe paddling.

The primary work of the Hawai‘i Adaptive Paddling Association supports a monthly recreational program, which allows participants the opportunity to experience a day at the beach in a safe, controlled and fun environment. Our trained volunteers provide a nurturing experience so that our participants can reap the benefits of the canoe and ocean. With an emphasis on safety, volunteers guide our participants through basic paddling skills so they can feel a part of the overall experience. Many of our paddlers volunteered and trained for years with the Project Pure Light program, and have been instrumental in developing and training new programs that have benefited neighbor island participants and visitors from the mainland.

We welcome all participants in the spirit of aloha and share our motto, Kia Kaha (”Stay Strong”)

Please join us on the following future 2017 dates for a day of paddling, beach fun and lunch:
Saturday, November 18, 2017
Saturday, December 16, 2017
***Dates are subject to change without notice.

Participants - 10:00am arrival
Paddling Volunteers - 8:00am arrival

2018 HAPA dates (pending City & County permit approval)
Saturday, January 20, 2018
Saturday, February 17, 2018
Saturday, March 17, 2018
Saturday, April 21, 2018
Saturday, May 12, 2018
Saturday, June 9, 2018
Saturday, July 21, 2018
Saturday, August 18, 2018
Saturday, September 15, 2018
Saturday, October 20, 2018
Saturday, November 17, 2018
Saturday, December 15, 2018
***Dates are subject to change without notice.

Whenever possible, we make every effort to post a notice on this website by the morning of the program in the event we need to cancel due to weather and/or ocean conditions.

LOOKING FOR VOLUNTEER PADDLERS

Volunteer paddlers are always needed for our program. To be included on our volunteer email list or for more information about volunteering with our program, email us.

HOW TO FIND US:

HAPA is located in Kailua Beach Park on the Kaneohe side of the Kaelepulu Canal. Parking is accessible from the lane on the left side of the green Kalapawai Market on the corner of Kailua Road and S. Kalaheo Avenue. Our tent will be located next to the bathrooms/concession stand building, and we launch our canoes from the beach in front of this area.

Click here to check out video from our Nov. 2014 program by volunteer Jim Skouge (thanks Jim!)